Titan’s Boots

Let me explain…

As I mentioned in the post about our house renovations, we have hardwood floor that is literally hundreds of years old. It is called heart pine and is actually pretty soft. We were only a little concerned about our floors at first, but after realizing that Titan didn’t go crazy in the house too often, the floors were probably safe. However, in doing some deep cleaning of the floor, we noticed a few scratches here and there.

We still didn’t think it was bad enough, so we only joked about getting these boots.

Then, we started noticing how much he would slip on both the wood floor and on the tile in the kitchen. If he was sitting there, his front paws would slide out from him and he would struggle to stand up. This is especially so in the kitchen, but it is an issue in the cabin as well.

At first, it was sort of funny to watch him try to stand up or to watch him slip and slide around the kitchen when he got excited. But then, I started thinking more about how much of an issue it might become. I thought about times that I’ve slipped before and how much of a strain it can be on your muscles and ligaments, etc. So I started thinking the same thing might be happening to Titan.

Since we don’t want him to get hurt, we started seriously talking about these boots. After talking more about it, we saw that there would be another benefit to him wearing these boots inside the house…less dirt and dust on the floor since his dirty feet would be covered up!

The first time he put them on, it was absolutely hysterical! He would pick his paws up really high off the ground like he was almost prancing (which he sort of does anyway!). My honey actually videoed him walking a bit when we put the back ones on for the first time.

We’ve had the boots for about a week now and although it is quite the task to put them on him, it has been really great. The floor still gets lots of hair from him, but there isn’t nearly as much dust. They really do provide traction for him so I know he is less likely to pull something.

The added bonus we didn’t even know about? They actually calm him down! He isn’t nearly as rambunctious when he comes in the house once we put them on. It’s awesome!!! He’s just much more chilled out for some reason.

I highly recommend these goofy boots if you have a pup who slides on or scratches your floors. There are also ones for pets to wear outside too, but we’re not planning on getting him those ones.

So there you have it folks, the reasoning behind buying our puppy boots! Please help me feel less crazy for doing this to my pet and say you understand!! 🙂

Do you have boots/shoes for your pets?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

11 responses »

  1. Super smart idea. I think the hardwood floors made Theron’s hips much worse. Wish I had thought of the boots myself. 🙂

    Reply
  2. AW! It sounds like a win-win situation for all of you! We have hardwood floors too and I notice how bad my high heals are on them. More of a reason to change into comfortable shoes RIGHT when I get home!

    Reply
  3. I love them! He’s so stinkin cute!

    Reply
  4. Hahahahahaha that’s fantastic. And the boots are adorable! You should put up the video!

    Reply
  5. adorable! love the boots. what a great idea.

    Reply
  6. Awwww! Titan looks so cute in his little booties! I definitely need to get some of these for my pup – he’s scratching up all our hardwood floors!

    Reply
  7. We are in the same situation. Our pup doesn’t seem to mind our hardwoods, even though he’s constantly falling, but he’s killing me! Our floors are so scratched now it makes me sick to look at…I totally need to get some of these for him! I think Ryder would HATE them though. What brand are those?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

