A gluten-free Thanksgiving

I know it’s been over a week since Thanksgiving, but it has just been such a crazy week!! Plus, I really want to share about the day with you all 🙂

Thanksgiving was great this year. Being my first gluten-free one, I was a little nervous about making sure there was enough food for me to eat. Thankfully, we had dinner at my parents’ house and they were totally okay with me bringing two dishes, as well as making one of our favorite recipes gluten-free this year (see below). And actually, the rest of the menu was gluten-free naturally, except for the stuffing, which I’m not a fan of anyway.

I got to be in the kitchen almost the entire day. Both at my house and then at my parents’. Now that’s what I call a good day 🙂

I slept in a little, got up and worked on the two recipes I was bringing: Cheesy Broccoli and Rice Casserole, and Butternut Squash Bread Pudding. I prepped everything and got it all packed up before 11am.

My honey and I made the hour plus drive over the mountain and through the woods with our puppy in tow. His grandparents hadn’t seen him in awhile, so we figured we should take him for a visit 🙂 Luckily, he behaved excellently in the car and at their house.

It was great to see my parents because I hadn’t spent any time with them since my niece’s baptism in September. It was just the four of us this year because my little brother and his girlfriend couldn’t make the trip down from NYC. Also, since my honey and I were the only ones to not go to Cabo, we had some catching up to do in time spent with them.

We got there around 12:30pm, but didn’t eat until 3:30pm. In that time, I helped with the turkey, pan-made gravy (that was WAY too salty), mashed potatoes, and one of my absolute favorite recipes: popovers.

Have you ever had popovers? They are sublime! And a cinch to make- only 3 ingredients!!

I could eat them all day long. However, they are traditionally made with wheat flour, but I knew there had to be a way to make them gluten-free. So over the summer, I went straight to the source to find out how to make them…Google. (It knows everything!)

Luckily, I found a recipe using some of Pamela’s bread mix. Unfortunately, I don’t keep the bread mix on hand because I’m more apt to make cookies, pancakes, or muffins instead, so I use the baking mix more regularly. From what I read, Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix wouldn’t work as well, so I bought the bread mix one day just so I could make these (because they are that good!).

In mid-July, I whipped up a batch and savored every last bite. I may have only let my honey have one of the six I made 🙂

Since they turned out so fantastic, I told my parents that I wanted them for Thanksgiving this year. I know they aren’t exactly the same as the regular ones, but they are close enough! My dad bought the mix for them, and he ended up liking them! Maybe he’ll use the rest of the bag to make more 🙂

Popovers (Makes 6 popovers)

A tender, eggy roll that is great for slathering butter on, it makes a great companion for any type of meal. 

  • 1 cup gluten-free bread flour (I used Pamela’s Bread Mix)*
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs

1. Whisk together all ingredients, either in a bowl or in a blender. The batter will be very thin.

2. Grease a muffin pan with olive oil or spray. Pour batter into the muffin pan, filling each cup only half full. You could also use 1-cup glass bowls if you have them.

3. Bake at 450 degrees for 20 minutes.

4. Lower the heat to 350 degrees and bake for another 20 minutes.

5. You’ll know they are done when they pop over the edge of the cups!

*Note: I’ve been thinking about these popovers all day so I decided to try making them with the Baking and Pancake Mix instead of the Bread Mix and they still turned out great! They don’t ‘pop’ as much, but they are just as eggy and delicious 🙂

____________________________________________________________

After we had our fabulous dinner, we played Bananagrams! It is such a fun word game, and I kicked butt 🙂

We also took a new family picture with our puppy!

Overall, it was a great day! As I mentioned on Thanksgiving, I have so much to be thankful for 🙂

_____________________________________________________________________

It’s Saturday and I have the house to myself for the day! That means lots of cleaning and lots of exercising!!! Plus, some catching up on blogs 🙂

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. LOVE Bananagrams!!
    And your hair! Is it lighter?

    Reply
  2. Oh my goodness; Titan is getting so big!

    Reply
  3. I have never made popovers but I am thinking that they sound like the perfect addition to any meal! …..Google does know everything. Where would we be without it?!
    Your Thanksgiving seems wonderful! All day in the kitchen, family, and a new family photo! PERFECT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

