Christmas Decorations

Originally, I didn’t want to get our Christmas tree until next week. This morning, however, our pastor (who lives a few miles down the road in our small town) said he wanted to come over and see our house once we got it all decorated. After hearing that, we decided to stop after church to pick up our tree and get started on the decorating process! Nothing like a little pressure from the pastor to get things done πŸ™‚

We went back to the same place we went last year. A local couple has a very small sampling of trees that are quite a nice price. We only paid $20 this year and check out the beaut we got!

We drug out all of our Christmas decorations from the attic, turned on some Christmas music (Michael Buble Christmas station on Pandora is fabulous!!)Β and got started. I’m amazed at how much we got done in such a short amount of time actually!

I whipped up a batch of homemade hot chocolate, only this time I cut up a chocolate bar we had and melted that in the warm milk. I also added extra kahlua and some Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder…talk about a little slice of heaven in a mug πŸ™‚

My mother-in-law got us a set of these awesome mugs as an early Christmas present!

While my honey took care of our stair banister, I put myself in charge of lighting the tree. I’m very proud to say it only took me one try to get the lights perfect πŸ™‚

We picked up some LED lights last year to decorate with and then after Christmas we picked up some more on sale. They are much different than the traditional ones, but fun in a different way!

I had some fun with my camera and got this shot.

I simply zoomed in with the lens as I snapped the picture. My shutter speed was only 1/5 so it was open long enough to make the cool effect.

We had some help putting up all of the lights and decorations, but he got tired pretty quickly and decided to park it on the couch.

We always said we wouldn’t let him up on the couch, but lately we just haven’t been saying no. However, we have laid down one of my college blankets so he doesn’t get hair all over the cushions.

I made my honey take more pictures of me with Titan today because in going through all of the photos we have of him, I realized there are barely any of me with him.

We still have ornaments to put on the tree and lots of lights to put up outside, but at least we’ve got a start on it all! We didn’t put up lights outside last year, so it will be exciting to do it this year. I can’t wait to see the whole house lit up πŸ™‚

_____________________________________________________________

On a completely unrelated note….I downloaded Angry Birds Seasons to my phone…big mistake!! I’m addicted!! It’s fun to have the snow falling on the levels and to see the Santa hats on the little piggies though πŸ™‚

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

14 responses »

  1. Wow – what a great price for the tree – and it looks fantastic. That hot choccie sounds delish!

    Reply
  2. The tree looks great! Can’t believe it was only $20 — what a steal!

    Reply
  3. So jealous!!! I can’t wait until I’m home in 2 weeks helping my mom with our tree!

    Reply
  4. Wow! You guys got a seriously gorgeous tree! Beautiful!

    PS – Love Angry Birds! Most. Addicting. Game. Ever!

    Reply
  5. That’s cute about the pastor motivation πŸ™‚ It would have gotten me going too- Oh goodness is it beautiful! What a deal! …..I need to start on Christmas decorating tomorrow for sure!

    Reply
  6. I especially love the picture of you and Titan with the Christmas lights reflected in the window behind you. Lovely tree — I can’t wait to see pics of the outside lights too.

    Reply
  7. Those cups are fabulous – so fun! And I love the picture you took with the lights – it’s like Christmas in space or something. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Those cups are so fun and festive! And pretty tree, I always like when they have colored lights πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. beautiful tree! we got our Christmas decorations this past weekend. always a fun time decorating for the Holidays πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

