Double duty workout

I realized that I never filled you all in on how my presentation went last Tuesday.

Basically, it could have gone a whole lot better. We were short a group member and had to fill in her parts, which proved to be much more difficult than we thought it would be. I felt like I did a really great job with my part (especially when I led the audience in some exercises!), but as a whole, we lost our footing a few times.

We didn’t end up winning, but it wasn’t because of our presentation skills. We technically have someone at the university who is willing to roll out our project starting in January, so the judges basically said we had already ‘won.’ I’m just so thankful it is over and I can get back to giving 100% to my regular job! I’ll keep you all updated on how the classes go because I’m pretty sure I’ll be signing up for some.

For now though, I’m going to stick to the crazy workouts I get to do at home.

Yesterday, I did three separate workouts. Two were planned, but the third wasn’t.

I’ve been neglecting my abs lately, so I knew I needed to dedicate a workout to just my abs this weekend. I did a 25 minute hodge-podge workout with any abs exercise I could think of. It was great! And I felt really strong for having not done a proper abs workout in forever.

Then, I wanted to go for a run because I’ve also been skimping on that since it has gotten cold. I did a quick two mile run and I felt like I could run forever!!! It was the perfect temperature outside and the gorgeous sunshine made everything look especially beautiful. I would have run longer, but before I left, my honey said he was going to do another type of workout and I wanted to make sure I was back for it.

He was cutting wood for our stove!

Instead of a traditional heating system for our house, we heat with a wood stove. They are very common in our area and my honey grew up with one in their basement. The stove also heats our hot water, and it is the most cozy heat you could imagine. The actual stove is outside and looks like this.

This was the very first fire in the stove!

Now, I can’t really get into all of the specifics about how it actually works because I’m not really sure. But, I can tell you how we cut the wood for it!

Obviously we need a lot of wood in the winter to keep the stove going (we usually put wood in the stove in the morning and in the evening when it gets really cold). Luckily, we live on 82 acres, most of which is woodland, so there is no shortage of trees to chop up. However, we rely on our own (wo)manpower to do the chopping! This has proved to be one of the best workouts I’ve ever done and is now one of my favorite ways to get a full body workout in!

When I first met my honey, we cut wood for his parents’ stove. I was pretty weak back then and could really only load the cut up wood onto the truck (and sometimes I could barely do that!). Every once in awhile I would try splitting some pieces with the splitting maul, but I wouldn’t have much success.

Now that I work out regularly, I can really tell how much stronger I’ve gotten. I’m actually able to split some of the wood!

Yes, I am wearing my running clothes. And no, I didn’t get this one on the first try! I say it’s a much better workout if you have to hit each piece multiple times ๐Ÿ™‚ But, it’s not as efficient and we’d be there forever if I was the only one splitting.

However, my honey has been cutting wood his entire life, so he is much better at it than me!

Just look at that form! And I’m pretty sure he got this on two tries ๐Ÿ™‚

Not only is splitting the wood an excellent workout, but loading the pieces onto the truck is also. I use different techniques to load it so I can work all parts of my body. I do the chest press pass, the side twist and heave (alternating sides!), and the squat and throw. I’ll even do overhead shoulder presses if I have two smaller pieces. Or some biceps curls ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m telling you, it’s a great way to stay in shape during the winter months. If you’re looking for a new workout to try, let me know and I’m sure we will need the help ๐Ÿ™‚

Below was two weeks ago when it was 60 degrees out! It just shows you how often we have to cut wood around here.

My honey first cuts up the trees with the chainsaw, and then stands them on end to split.

The main thing I love about this ‘workout’ is that I’m actually accomplishing something that needs to get done while torching calories and building muscle!

Anyone want to give it a try? ๐Ÿ™‚

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. I love that you turned a “chore” into a workout!

    Reply
  2. I love it when you can see tangible results like that. Hooray for getting stronger! Beautiful pictures, too, by the way. It looks like you’ll stay nice and warm this winter!

    Reply
  3. wow, now that is some workout

    Reply
  4. There is *nothing* like a good hard days work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. oh gosh, i think I might seriously injure myself if i tried that… but it actually sounds fun! a workout and probably very cathartic if you’re having a bad day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

