What a week + new recipe

I haven’t been this glad it’s Friday in a long time! It has been such a crazy week for both me and my honey. We have both had something every evening after work, and it is just exhausting.

Lucky for me, I’m taking today off! Unfortunately, my honey can’t do the same and he is the one who really needs a break.

He will get a break soon enough though because Christmas vacation starts next Wednesday! We will both have 13 whole days away from work!!!! We are definitely counting down the days :)

Tomorrow we are traveling down to Radford to see my brother-in-law graduate from college. It’ll be fun to go back there because my honey and I met there! We’ve only been back once since I graduated with my Master’s in 2008 and that was for our one-year wedding anniversary in June 2010.

As for today, I have a ton of things planned, but I highly doubt I will get to all of them. The main few things I need to work on are:

  • decorating our Christmas tree (we have lights on it, but no ornaments!)
  • making our Christmas card (this is our third Christmas since we got married and we still haven’t done a card!)
  • clean off the kitchen table
  • do some laundry
  • pack for our trip tomorrow
  • possibly bake some sugar cookies with homemade frosting…still developing the recipes, but I’m so excited and will definitely share!
  • work out (I plan to do a little more wood splitting in addition to my run!)

________________________________________________________

I’m excited to share this recipe today because I used to think it was impossible to make this at home. After my chiropractor suggested it to me last winter when my honey was sick, I tried it and have never gone back to the canned stuff!!

There’s a reason people eat chicken soup when they are sick: it is incredibly good for you! This is mainly from the broth, and like most things, homemade is best! For a really in-depth look at why homemade broth is so good for you, check out this article by Sally Fallon, author of Nourishing Traditions: The Cookbook that Challenges Politically Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats (I HIGHLY recommend this book! I refer to it, and healthy fats, in this post).

Homemade Chicken Soup with Rice (Makes 10-12 servings)

  • one 3-5 lb whole chicken (organic if possible)
  • 3 or 4 quarts of water (enough to just barely cover the chicken)
  • 2 large carrots
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1 medium onion
  • salt
  • pepper
  • dried parsley
  • dried thyme
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice

1. Fill large stockpot (I use an 8-qt) with water. Turn heat on high.

2. Rinse off chicken and remove any innards. Place chicken (with skin still on) in the water and let come to a boil. Let it boil for 20 minutes.

3. While chicken is boiling, dice up the carrots, celery and onion. Add veggies to pot and stir around.

4. Add seasonings to your liking. Go heavy on the salt and parsley and taste before adding any more. Go light on the thyme because it is pretty strong.

5. Let everything simmer for about 20 more minutes or until everything is tender.

6. Turn off the heat and remove chicken from pot onto a large cutting board. Remove as much meat as you can with a knife and a fork. Shred the chicken to desired size pieces. Return the meat to the pot.

7. Add the cooked rice to the pot and stir around.

8. Serve hot with your favorite gluten-free crackers.

This recipe makes a lot of soup! After you put the leftovers in containers, put the chicken carcass back into the stockpot to make some broth. Following Sally Fallon’s recipe, add some more carrots, celery and onions, plus a little vinegar. Then pour in enough water to cover everything and bring to a boil. Let simmer for a few hours.

You can freeze this broth and use it in other recipes and soups. It’s much cheaper than buying broth from the store because you get one chicken soup recipe, plus lots of broth for under $10! I’ll sometimes not make the soup from the chicken, but instead use this method to cook my chicken to shred for other recipes. Then I will use the carcass to make the broth. It’s a win-win all around!

Have you ever made your own broth?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

6 responses »

  1. I still need to do my christmas cards too – hoping to get them ordered tonight. Post-Christmas cards might be okay, right? ;)

    Reply
    • Despite what my wife says, yes it is ok to send them out Post-Christmas. In fact, it’ll usually guarantee that people will pay attention since there aren’t others Christmas Cards to sift through.

      Reply
  2. We are finally sending out Christmas cards too! :) First year ever! …..Enjoy the countdown to time away from work and time spent together!

    Reply
  3. I love homemade chicken soup. I often double the recipe so I can have a normal batch and then experiment on the other. When I’m sick there’s nothing better than a bowl of chicken soup with a spicy kick to help clear out the sinuses.

    Reply
  4. If you guys wanna meet up on your way down or back from Radford let me know!

    Reply
  5. that soup looks so good! I rarely make my own soups, but now that I can’t have gluten I’m definitely going to start! I’ve also never made my own broth… that’s a whole other step up in the culinary world. one day, haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

