It’s official!

My honey and I are going to NYC for New Year’s Eve!! He has always wanted to go to Times Square to ring in the new year and we figured this year was the year to do it!

My little brother lives up in Queens, so we have a place to stay which has been the biggest hurdle for going up there because I’m sure hotels are outrageous that night.

We’re taking the train up to Connecticut and seeing my roommate from college for the afternoon of the 30th. I’m super excited to see her because I haven’t seen her since our wedding in June 2009!

She and I lived together all four years of college, but now we live so far away from each other that we can’t get together very often. We’ll go out to lunch and hang out for awhile before my honey and I head into the city.

Right now, the plan is to go to my little brother’s and drop off our stuff, then head to Rockefeller Center and go ice skating and see the tree! I think I’m most excited about doing that actually 🙂

We still haven’t done enough research on exactly where or when we need to be for the ball drop, but we’ll do that this week. My honey has found a club close by where we can hang out for the evening, but I’m not sure yet if we’re going to do that. It is $95, but includes drinks, not sure about food though. At least it would be a warm place to stay until midnight.

To make the trip cheaper, we decided to not take the train back to DC, but instead take a bus. For $20 a person, it’s quite the deal! And we’ll probably sleep most the way home on the 1st, so it doesn’t really matter what we’re on for that. I can’t wait to share pictures and hopefully some video footage! We bought a video camera for an early Christmas present and are excited to use it up there.

Have any of you been up there for New Year’s Eve? Anyone know of a good place to park ourselves outside for the evening? I would love to hear if any of you have had the experience! 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

7 responses »

  1. That is SO cool; I’ve always wondered what it would be like to be in NYC for New Years! Can’t wait to hear how it is!

    Reply
  2. What fun! …. The husband and I will ring in the new year celebrating our engagement from two years ago and that we are together. He dropped me off in New York three years ago to live and we spent NYE in NY. They take their New Years serious there! Have TONS of fun!……and with t he roommate too! That is awesome!

    Reply
  3. SO JEALOUS!! Mostly of the ice skating part! How fun – and it helps mentally when things are cheaper and you can find good deals! Enjoy yourselves!!

    Reply
  4. Oh have fun!! What a great way to celebrate! Dress warm! 😉 Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  5. I was in Times Square for the ball drop a few years ago! My advice would be to bring a snack or eat before you stand in the crowd for hours!…they shut down pretty much ALL of times square. It was such a fun time!

    Reply
  6. awesome! you are going to have so much fun!! I bet it is crazy there but worth it. I have never been there so sorry I do not have any great tips. excited to see your experience there!

    Reply
  7. It’s on my bucket list to spend New Year’s Eve in NYC! That’s so great you’re able to go and have a place to stay–that’s always a big factor when my husband and I are thinking about traveling. I was in NYC a few years ago and ate some of the most ridiculously delicious Italian pizza at Tramonti’s near 26th & Broadway (I think). Enjoy the trip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

