The Graduate

My brother-in-law graduated on Saturday from Radford University!

Here he is in all of his graduated glory!

Radford Alums!

This was the fourth graduation I’ve attended there…my honey’s in May of 2007, my honey’s cousin in December of 2007, my Master’s in May of 2008 and now his. Not only that, but his mom also graduated from there back when it was still called Radford College.

I usually loathe going to graduations….they are always so long and boring most of the time. I even skipped one part of my Master’s graduation because I just didn’t want to put myself and my family through it!

Needless to say, I was not excited about going to another graduation.

Very fortunately, this was the quickest one I’ve ever been to! Yay for December graduations where there aren’t as many students! We were in an out in just about an hour.

Before the ceremony, a bunch of family met at a new Mexican restaurant in town: Alejandro’s! I’m always up for some chips and salsa, so I was super pumped! When I walked in, I saw there were lots and lots of chips on the tables, but no salsa.

Someone quickly pointed out that there is actually a salsa bar instead!

I was beyond stoked! I like to try out different salsas, but I don’t want to be disappointed with what I get and then have to eat it all or waste it. With this, I could try eighteen different salsas and sauces! I stuck to three, but absolutely LOVED them! I seriously ate my weight in chips and salsa and couldn’t finish my enchiladas. I was surprised I was able to stay awake during the ceremony because I was so stuffed.

After the ceremony, we did a little shopping at the bookstore and my honey and I reminisced about our time there. We drove around the little city and saw how much it has changed since we graduated. It was a nice relaxing day before we went out to eat AGAIN!

This time, we went to a local brewery that is more of a meat and potatoes kind of place: The River Company

This was my second time here; my honey and I ate here for our one year anniversary actually. It’s still a beautiful place that overlooks the New River and has a great atmosphere, but they changed their menu and a few of the things we wanted, we weren’t able to get. It was a little dissatisfying in that respect, but the almond creme brulee was spectacular!

After dinner, my honey and I, and the graduate and his girlfriend, all headed out on the town! I was the DD because I’m not much for drinking anymore…plus I wanted my honey to be able to celebrate with his brother.

Let’s just say they had a good time 🙂 It was a fun evening and I had to drive home the next day so my honey could sleep!

Congratulations to my brother-in-law for finally getting through it all! We can’t wait to have you back home so you can let Titan out during the day 😉

One last shot of the grad and his proud mama! (Don’t tear up Nancy!! :))

___________________________________________________________________

Starting tomorrow (Wednesday), I don’t have to go back to work until January 3rd 🙂 I’ve already got a list of over 30 things that I want to do/accomplish/make/cook/clean/bake over break! I have a lot of reading to do and tons of cleaning as well. I plan to do a mini spring cleaning basically because we have barely been home this semester!

In addition to that, I hope to be able to post again every day 🙂 I can’t wait to share some photography and some new recipes!!

Off to enjoy a super relaxing evening with my honey and pup!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. Yay for a holiday break! Looking forward to the frequent posts! 🙂

    Reply
  2. holiday breaks are the best!
    and congrats to your brother-in-law!!

    Reply
  3. Congrats to your brother in law! that’s great that the ceremony was so short. In Charleston we have a beautiful outdoor ceremony, only problem is that it’s boiling hot and some of us on stage had to sit in the sun. I felt worse for my grandparents (and the rest of my family) who had to wait outside to get in, and then sit there for 2 hours! And YAY for breaks! I have a huge to do list and reading list too!

    Reply
  4. Sounds good to me- an hour long graduation! SCORE!
    ….I hope that you can be super productive over break and enjoy every minute!

    Reply
  5. I didn’t even like my own graduation, so I understand your feelings 100%. Why are they so boring? Enjoy your break – I still have to make it until Friday and then I can join you in relaxation mode through the New Year! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

