Juicy

And no I’m not talking couture…

The other day, I watched an amazing documentary called The Beautiful Truth. It’s about a 15 year old boy who does a research project on the Gerson Therapy. Dr. Gerson’s therapy has actually cured cancer in many patients, including his own daughter!

The therapy consists of a vegan diet, lots of fresh juice, no salt, no sugar, and a coffee enema…unless I’m really sick, please don’t give me a coffee enema or take away my meat, eggs and milk 🙂

But I think I can handle some fresh juicing.

I’ve heard about juicing a lot lately and I know there are so many great benefits to it. I’ve also heard that you don’t get much fiber in juice and you’re just better off eating the fruits and veggies or putting them in smoothies. I talked to my honey’s aunt about it and she said to think about how many carrots I could consume just sitting there eating them. Probably only a few. Whereas with juicing, you could consume maybe 6 or more. Some would say that is a good thing, but she said our bodies weren’t made to process that many nutrients at once. If you are sick and need the nutrients, then it would be fine to do some juicing on occasion, but as a lifestyle, she said it was not the greatest.

I also talked to my chiropractor about it and she said the good thing about not having the fiber in the juice is that the nutrients get absorbed into your body much quicker without it. So again, when you are sick or haven’t been eating properly, it’s okay to drink some juice.

After all that, I was still interested in juicing and how the juices would actually taste. I mentioned to my boss about the documentary and juicing, and she said she’d pass on the coffee enema, but that she had a juicer I could borrow to test out.

It’s an ancient Krups Vitamini and I finally tried it out the other day. I ended up buying $25 worth of fruits and veggies to make my first juice (obviously I didn’t use it all at once!).

I bought the following based on some recipes I’d seen online:

  • celery
  • apples
  • pears
  • grapes with seeds
  • carrots
  • cucumber

I started by juicing a few carrots and celery (mainly the top part with the leaves), but didn’t try that juice. Then, I did the apples and pears in with the carrots and celery, which made a very sweet juice. Then I did the grapes and cucumbers. I mixed all of the juices together (because it is a mini, I could only do small amounts at one time) and tasted it….interesting.

Not horrible, but not delicious. It smelled way worse than it tasted, but the smell seemed to get in the way of drinking it. It smelled mostly like celery, but the apples and pears made it nice and sweet.

I read in the Krups manual that juice should be sipped, not gulped. It said it would actually be “more harmful than beneficial” to drink it quickly. However, you need to drink the juice within a short while after you make it because when the air touches it, it begins oxidizing.

Of course I had my honey try it and he definitely didn’t like it. So I did what any wife would do: put the juice in his smoothie so he would never notice 🙂

Juiced Smoothie

  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 pear
  • 1/2 apple
  • 10 large seeded grapes
  • 1/2 cup juice (see above or make your own combo)

Put all ingredients in a blend in the order they are listed. Puree to desired consistency.

_________________________________________________________________

As I mentioned yesterday, I did a water fast. I will go way more in depth about it next week when I do a second fast, but I wanted to show you the juice I made to break my fast this morning.

This small amount of fruit made about 2 or 3 ounces of juice, which was perfect. After fasting, I definitely needed the nutrients in my system as quickly as possible so juice and an apple were the best things for me.

Looks appetizing, huh? Again, it was not horrible, but not delicious. The grapes added a nice amount of sweetness, but I ended up juicing a small sliver of apple into it as well.

I don’t know how long I will be able to keep my boss’ juicer, so I definitely don’t have plans to make juicing a regular part of my life, but I will be using it over break…especially after stuffing my face with yummy gluten-free cookies 🙂

What are your thoughts on juicing? Have you done it? Any good recipes?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

8 responses »

  1. I like the idea of juicing, but it seems so expensive. How long will the $25 of fruits & veggies you bought last?

    Reply
  2. I’ve never tried making my own juice, but it seems like it would be fun to experiment!

    Reply
  3. sounds like some good juices! we love juicing though we do not really do it much anymore, mostly because we are too lazy haha and we have just been enjoying smoothies so much, but know we should get back into juicing since it is so good for the body!

    Reply
  4. Are you fasting for religious reasons or just to detox?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

