A Christmas Workout

Merry Christmas!!! I hope your holiday was filled with lots of family time, food, and fun! I know mine was 🙂

I have plans to do a big shopping trip tomorrow after a photo session I’m doing. Lots of Christmas money to spend! Did you get anything fun?!

I’ll share more about our holiday tomorrow, but for now, I have an awesome Tabata-style workout for you!

We do a big family dinner at my in-laws on Christmas Eve, so I did this workout yesterday morning to get my metabolism revved up for the big dinner! It was an incredible workout and I plan to do it again this week, maybe even tomorrow!

If you’re not familiar with Tabata, it is a four-minute workout in which you do full body moves at very high intensity for just 20 seconds at a time. After the 20 seconds of work, you rest for 10 seconds before doing your next 20 seconds of work. You repeat the 20/10 work/rest 8 times for a total of 4 minutes. Most moves you do with Tabata require little equipment, which is nice for when you travel. It sounds easy, but it is TOUGH! Your heart will almost beat out of your chest and you should barely be able to catch your breath!

Since I have been doing Tabata-style workouts for about 2 years, I kick mine up a notch when I’m feeling strong! (Or when I need to get my furnace going to burn a big dinner!)

I did this set of 12 moves for a total of 6 minutes. You can just pick your favorite 8 and do only 4 minutes, or you can pick your favorite four moves and repeat them however many times you’d like.

6 Minute Tabata Christmas Workout

  • Burpees
  • Pendulum
  • Plank jacks
  • Jumping jacks
  • Mummy kicks (from Insanity)
  • Mountain climbers
  • Kettlebell swings
  • High knees
  • Speed skaters
  • Ski hop side to side
  • Plank butt squeezes
  • Plank with leg raise (alternate sides)

I actually did this workout, then took a 3 or 4 minute rest (went upstairs and checked on my turkey!) and then I repeated it one more time for a total of 12 minutes. I felt phenomenal afterwards!

Let me know if you try it!

 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

3 responses »

  1. I’m definitely going to try this out! I like things that are quick!

    Reply
  2. I love trying new ones like this- I love that it is so quick! Sounds like fun too 🙂

    Reply
  3. I just did this 2 times through and I’m breathing heavy and breaking a sweat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

