Prepping for NYC!

I’m just about to start packing for our trip to NYC! We are staying the night with my parents tonight because they live a little closer to the train station in DC and they are so graciously taking us in there so we don’t have to pay for parking. We have to get up at about 5am in order to get there by 7:30am.

We are headed to the chiropractor this afternoon before we leave though. I want both of us to be adjusted before we set out on our travels. I know it will help with all of the sitting we’ll be doing, plus being properly aligned will help our immune systems as well. Also, I’m treating my honey to a massage at the chiropractor because he definitely needs one!

I stayed up a little late last night making a batch of Honey Vanilla Peanut Butter (and I added a 1/4 cup of cashews too :)) to put in my Granola Bars. These are going to be the best snack for us to take on the train and then to have when we are out in Times Square on New Year’s Eve. They are packed with protein already, but I actually added a heaping tablespoon of coconut flour along with half a scoop of chocolate protein powder just to give them an extra boost!

I’m also planning on taking some oatmeal baggies with 1/4 cup oatmeal, 1 tbsp flax seed, 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, and a little cinnamon. Just add some hot water for a quick and healthy snack/breakfast!

I looked online and found out that we will have wi-fi on the train, so I plan to do a post from there tomorrow! Plus, I’ll be able to catch up on my blog reading since that hasn’t happened in awhile.

I also plan to bring a few other things to read and do on the train (since we have over 4 hours on it!):

  • I am rereading Real Food by Nina Planck. I just feel like I’ve gotten a little off track with my eating and I want to be reminded why I need to get back to eating more real and traditional foods.
  • I have the newest Oxygen Magazine to finish reading.
  • I have some posts saved from other blogs that I intend to finally read.
  • I want to clean out some photos on my computer and also create a photo book of our house.
  • My honey and I are going to plan a few sights to see while we’re up there since he has never been!
  • I have Angry Birds on my phone…enough said!

Because my brother lives in a studio apartment, we are lugging our air mattress up there. Luckily, each passenger on the train gets two carry on bags, so we can definitely squeeze it on. I’m hoping to pack a light bag with only a few items of clothing. I’m not going up there trying to impress anyone, so I don’t care about what clothes I take with me, just as long as they will keep me warm!

The main things that will take up space are our electronics! I’m taking my big camera, my MacBook, and my phone, plus chargers for all three. My honey will be bringing the video camera and his phone, plus chargers. We intend to capture our trip in many different formats 🙂

Well, now that I’ve figured out what all I need to pack, I better get to it!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

3 responses »

  1. One of the things I love about traveling is getting tons of time to catch up on reading! I’m actually headed to NC tomorrow!

    Reply
  2. I can’t wait to read about what it’s like! Have fun!

    Reply
  3. You are going to have SO much fun!!! I hope that packing went super easy, that is always hard! …Stay safe, warm, and have TONS of fun!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

