Strollin around NYC

We made it! And so did all of our stuff!! We each had two things to carry the entire way up here…me with my two Vera bags and him with his suitcase and an air mattress (which he declared he would never carry again and it would be staying here in NYC!).

First stop after finally finding my roommate at the train station was Stew Leonard’s!

As the sign says, it is the world’s largest dairy store. I had been to this place once, but was definitely excited to come back. It is really just a HUGE grocery store with lots of fresh dairy products, like more than I have ever seen anywhere else!

Not only does it have regular grocery items, it also has lots of singing cows and other fun entertainment things on top of the shelves.

In perusing the store, I found a treat that I just couldn’t pass up!

You might remember me talking about these when I reviewed my Lollihop box. They are super delicious and I was so excited to find them! They were on sale 2/$4, so obviously I bought two! The first bag is practically gone already and I’m pretty much the only one who ate them 🙂

Stew’s has a little outdoor farm, but it was closed for the winter, so we only got a picture next to the cow.

After leaving Stew’s, my roommate drove us around CT and we even got to see Michael Bolton’s house!! We ended up going back to her house and waited on her boyfriend to get there. Then, we went out to a cute little Mexican place called Bodega before heading into NYC.

I know this is a horrible pic, but it is the only one we got of the two of us!

After taking the train from CT to Grand Central, we hopped onto the subway…on the wrong train! We called my little brother and told him we were almost there and then I told him the stops we were seeing and he didn’t recognize any of them. Oops! Luckily, we just got on the express train, which passed by his stop, instead of the local one. It was an easy switch to the other train once some nice gentlemen helped us out! Who says New Yorkers aren’t friendly?!

We dropped our stuff at my brother’s place and decided to head back into the city. I really wanted to go ice skating, but after researching it a bit more decided that it was incredibly expensive to do it at Rockefeller Center. My brother told me about skating at Bryant Park, which is cheaper and less crowded, so we headed there. Unfortunately, the line was a mile long and it just wasn’t worth the wait. Maybe we’ll go this morning or tomorrow morning before we leave…

We ended up just walking all over the city seeing all of the tourist hot spots and taking lots of touristy pictures! Most of them are really dark and grainy, but at least we captured the moment, right?!

My honey and I in Times Square!

We dressed really warmly, but actually didn’t need the extra stuff at all. It was in the mid-forties and absolutely gorgeous!!!! And it is supposed to be just as warm tonight 🙂

The ball is going to be dropped from the very tippy top where it says Toshiba! We could see the 2012, but it wasn’t lit up yet. We figured that if we don’t end up seeing the ball drop tonight, we can at least say we saw where it would be.

We of course had to walk by Radio City Music Hall. I’m jealous because my brother and his girlfriend just saw the Rockettes show there the other day! I would love to go see the show, but we just don’t have enough time.

Here we are in front of the Rockefeller tree!

This place was packed too, so I’m glad we didn’t waste time waiting in line to ice skate. We ended being able to see so much of the city by just walking around instead.

It was getting close to midnight, so we started heading back towards Grand Central to take the subway back to Queens. We had to get a few shots of inside the terminal because it is truly spectacular.

We finally made it back and just hung out for awhile watching reruns of Roseanne on Netflix. We pumped up the air mattress and settled in close to 1am….way later than I have stayed up in quite awhile! The air mattress wasn’t too bad actually and I think I got about 6 or 7 hours of sleep.

Now we are trying to plan out our day today and figure out where exactly we are going to be at midnight to ring in the new year!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

6 responses »

  1. Glad you made is safe and sound! It seems like you are already on the right track to having a great trip!

    Reply
  2. So jealous you are in NYC for New Year’s! Have a wonderful time! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I want to see the Rockettes too!!!!!! It’s fun seeing the pictures — and thank you for the one to my phone. I am so happy you get to show your honey NYC… and even happier that you slept well on the air mattress.

    Reply
  4. Did you get your haircut? It looks cute! Why do I have a feeling you mentioned this a while ago & I’m just now noticing? haha 🙂 Have fun tonight!

    Reply
  5. SO JEALOUS!! Looks like you guys are having a blast – glad it’s not too cold!

    Reply
  6. I’m glad you made it safely and I hope you had a great time watching the ball drop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

