Thoughts

At 6:45 this morning, I officially turned 28 years old. That means it’s been nearly 10 years since I graduated high school…where has the time gone?

But that’s not the point of this post.

You may or may not have noticed that I haven’t posted in a week and a half…life happens, right?

There are a few reasons I haven’t posted recently actually. The main one being that it’s been a busy start to the new year and there have been other things that need my attention more than the blog.

Work was busy last week, and then on Saturday, my poor puppy got cut on a piece of farm equipment and needed about 20 stitches….He’s going to be fine, and luckily the cut wasn’t very deep at all, so he will be healed next week sometime.

However, he needs A LOT of attention right now! He is not allowed to run around, so we have to take him out on the leash anytime he goes outside, which is often difficult and time-consuming. We also have to keep his wound clean, so we have to limit what he gets into in the house. Needless to say, I’ve been spending lots of time with him instead of worrying about my blog.

The other reason I haven’t posted is because I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting on blogging lately.

I have enjoyed blogging for the past 7 or 8 months and have learned so much from so many other bloggers out there. I have been inspired to try new recipes, new foods and new products. I have learned about new workouts, and tried many of them! I have loved sharing my recipes and getting feedback on them. I have also loved being able to share my everyday life with my family and friends who live far away.

BUT…

Lately I feel like I have been focusing on reading about other people’s lives, and thinking about and planning what I’m going to post about instead of actually focusing on my own life.

And I don’t like it.

I want to be more present in my life and lay on the couch a little more with my honey. I want to spend more time keeping my kitchen clean so I can make healthy meals and enjoy my time in there. I want to relax a little more and continue focusing on keeping me and my honey healthy in all aspects of our lives.

I have also let my part-time business fall by the wayside. But with me needing a new car very soon, I need to get back on track with it since it has been a great source of extra income for me in the past two and a half years.

In order for me to refocus, I am going to be stepping back from blogging every day and probably even every week. I hope to be able to share big events and a few recipes here and there, but I don’t plan on having a regular posting schedule (not that I ever really did before…:)). I will also be cutting back on reading and commenting on other blogs because that was also consuming a lot of my time.

I’m definitely sad about this, but I’ve really been thinking about it a lot lately and I finally decided this is what is best for me right now.

I hope to be able to check in again soon and will pop in on other blogs when I can!

Have you ever felt like you needed to take a hiatus from blogging? Or from anything really?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

8 responses »

  1. That is precisely why i stepped back too. 🙂 Not enough time steeped in reality. 🙂 Good luck girlie!

    Reply
  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope you had a wonderful day of celebrating!
    I totally hear you! I have been on the same page as you. I took off and decided to give it a rest for a week but I still felt like I had to keep up with other’s lives- I think I’m going to be scaling it back too because of some changes in my life. It is just so hard to keep up with everything- we are already spread so thin. *hugs and support*
    Poor pup! That sounds tough, I’m glad that he will be okay though. …….Take care of you and your honey! Blessings to you and we’ll all still read even if you don’t post every day/week or whatever you feel like. Be you! It’s a great thing!

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday Kristin!! I’ll definitely still be reading whenever you decide to post! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh birthdays are the best. they always make me reflect on life. and oh yes there are times when we feel we need time away from blogging to get to our life. to get it to where we want it to be. it happens to us all! enjoy your time. we have a strong feeling that you will figure everything out!
    xoxo

    Reply
  5. Happy Birthday! I don’t think non-bloggers realize how much time it really takes to keep your blog going, I completely understand the need to take a step back. It’s a lot of work and if you feel your life is getting out of balance, you are smart to realize you need a change. I’ll miss your posts, but get out and live. 🙂

    Reply
  6. We will miss your blog posts but totally understand!! Hope you had a great birthday!

    Reply
  7. SOOO feeling you on this one!! Blogging is about to come to a head over here too. I’m proud of you for taking a step back, Kristin!

    Reply
  8. I am just coming back from a blogging rest. I took off almost 3 months because I just couldnt do it, didnt have desire, and life was taking over. It felt good to not think about it and be disconnected for awhile.
    Enjoy your time with your honey and puppy. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

