Happy Mother’s Day and some Honey-Cocoa Mixed Nut Butter

It’s crazy how social media works, isn’t it?

I follow Lindsay on Instagram (find me at eathealthybehappy), so I saw when she posted a photo of the Cookie Dough Nutty Butter she got from Sarah at The Smart Kitchen. I immediately found Sarah’s blog and started looking for the recipe (if you go there now, you will be teased with a post titled Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Nutty Butter, but no recipe! She’s keeping it a secret for now, let’s hope she shares soon!). I read through some other posts and figured out that she is from VA, right down the road in Charlottesville! How fun to find local bloggers.

I commented on her BLEND retreat recap post and told her I was also a VA blogger. She immediately e-mailed me back asking if I wanted to be part of the Virginia Bloggers group. My answer was yes, of course! I need to learn a little more about the group, but they are doing monthly meet ups which I’m super excited about! Hopefully there will be one soon.

Anyways, through reading her blog, I found her recipe for what she calls Nutty Butter and was inspired. It’s basically a nut butter made with several different nuts. What a fantastic idea! I decided that since I had just about half a cup left of some raw peanuts and a small amount of pecans and cashews, that I would make my own version.

Image

Here’s what I did:

Cocoa-Honey Mixed Nut ButterΒ (Makes 16oz)

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw peanuts
  • 1/2 cup raw pecans
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts
  • 1/4 cup almond slivers
  • 1/4 cup raw almonds
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • splash of vanilla
  • 2-3 tbsp honey
  • 1-2 tbsp cocoa powder

1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

2. Mix nuts together in a large bowl.

3. Melt the butter and pour over the nuts. Stir to coat all of the nuts.

4. Lay the buttered nuts on a baking sheet in one layer. Sprinkle salt over the nuts.

5. Bake for about 10-15 minutes or until they start to become fragrant. You don’t want to over-bake them; you just want them to get a little roasted.

6. Dump the nuts into your food processor and let it go. Stop and scrape down the sides if necessary. Add the coconut oil at any point. I usually do it once the nuts get crumbly.

7. Once it gets to a creamy state, add in the vanilla and the honey while it is still processing. It might clump up on you, but just let it be. It will get creamy again.

8. Remove the nut butter from the food processor into a bowl. Stir in the cocoa and taste. Add more honey and/or salt as needed.

9. Transfer to half-pint mason jars to store.

As you can see, it has a little bit of a grainy texture. It also has a very complex flavor (you were right, Julie!). I think when I make this again, I might leave out the walnuts. Their skins can be a little bitter and I think they were a little over-powering in this batch. You’ll have to try it for yourself and see what you think. Let me know if you do!

________________________________________________________

I just got home from dinner out with my parents and my honey’s parents. We went to a local steakhouse which was having a Mother’s Day Prime Rib buffet. Great for my mother-in-law since that is her favorite! They also had salmon, pork tenderloin, two different salads, some greens cooked with broccoli and some sweet potato casserole. To end it all, they had some fantastic cheesecake!

I of course bought my mother a card for Mother’s Day (always a funny one because we like to laugh together!), but I also gave her a jar of my strawberry jam upon request. I wanted to dress it up a little bit, so I wrote this little card for it in the car on the way there…it was a little bumpy and my handwriting is a little less than stellar.

I had a glass of wine with dinner and apparently it showed in my eyes…plus, my right eye was really red because when I mowed the lawn earlier, I got a bunch of dust in it. What I’m trying to say is that this is not the best picture of me, but my mom looks great!

Guess who my honey takes after?? Doesn’t she have great jewelry?! She’s always very nicely accessorized πŸ™‚

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the mothers out there! I hope you enjoyed your day to the fullest πŸ™‚

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

4 responses »

  1. Kelli H (Made in Sonoma)

    I really like the picture of those nuts – ha! Seriously though, it’s a cool picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

