Back to school, back to school…

I graduated with my Master’s Degree four years ago (crazy how time flies!). My degree is in counseling and human development with a concentration in student affairs. Getting this degree was a huge accomplishment and landed me my current job at a university.

I absolutely love my job! I enjoy going to work every day and rarely do I find myself frustrated with it (maybe with the students…but not with my job). I love my boss and the wonderful people that make up our very large department. We spend a lot of time together and we eat a lot! We’re actually having a cookout on Thursday that I’ll miss since I’m taking the day off 😦 Oh well, there will be more throughout the summer.

If you’ve read my blog for any amount of time, you know that I’m passionate about healthy living and nutrition. It has become such a huge part of my life in the past few years and it’s something I decided I wanted to pursue a little bit more.

Working at a university has so many perks. Not only do I get a lot of vacation days, but I also get breaks when the students get breaks for the holiday- like almost two weeks off at Christmas! Another amazing perk is that I can take classes for free.

That’s right, any class on any topic for FREE!

After working here for four years, I finally decided to take advantage of this and I signed up for two online summer classes. The first one started on Monday and so far I’m loving it. However, I forgot how much time it takes to get through a 16 week course in just four weeks. I really should be listening to a lecture right now, not blogging…

I’m not going to lie, I’ve been a little nervous about the classes. I haven’t had to write a paper or take a test or read a textbook in four years! What if I’ve forgotten how to do those things? So far, the assignments for this first class have been easy, but I have a bunch of reading to do and videos to watch. Plus, I’m going to have some projects to start working on…I’m hoping I can still find the time to blog while also getting my schoolwork done.

This first class I’m taking is called Nutrition for Wellness. I knew going into it that I would be learning (and then have to regurgitate) information that I disagree with. See this post about fats to get a sense of what I’m talking about. But I decided that it was a step in the right direction and it will be a great learning experience for me. Fortunately, my professor used to be a powerlifter/bodybuilder, so I think some of his values are in line with mine as far as clean eating goes.

Quick story about the book for class…I kind of forgot that I needed to get it so I went to the bookstore on Thursday to see how much it cost. It was $105 for the used book!!!! That’s insane, and I was definitely not going to pay that much. I immediately went back to my office and looked on Amazon for it…$11! Score!! After I ordered it, it said the estimated delivery date was June 5th…just 3 days before my class would be over. I was so nervous. But luckily, it shipped right away and got here yesterday. Just in time for me to start reading chapter one.

I have my first test on Friday, so I need to get crackin on my reading an assignments! I’ll keep you updated on how it is going. I’ll let you know if I learn anything new 🙂

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

10 responses »

  1. Aww!!! That’s so exciting. Free classes… Do they make you get certain grades, or you have to pay them back?

    Reply
  2. So exciting! I wish I could go back to school for Nutrition, but no schools around me offer a program!

    Reply
  3. Ooh, girl. I’m getting ready to head back to school for MY master’s (of Public Health) and I don’t know if I’m ready for things like tests and projects! But I AM stoked for some back to school shopping.

    Good luck w/ your test!

    Reply
  4. Good Billy Madison reference.

    Reply
  5. How awesome that you are taking some classes! I think that is great!! I’ve only been out of school for two years.. and I still consider going back for my sixth year.. but I don’t know if I could handle it! I don’tknow how I used to work all day.. and then go to class for 4 hours when getting my masters. I am in bed 4 hours after I get home from work now!

    Reply
  6. You go girl! What is the second class you are taking?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

